Max Sobel's edition of Bonporti's complete surviving works have been available in score for many years but it has sometimes been difficult to source performing materials. Now he has decided to make them available through

Opp. 1, 2, 4 & 6 are sets of ten trio sonatas, op. 3 is a set of six motets for soprano with strings, op. 11 contains 10 concerti, while op. 12 consists of six concertini and six serenate for solo violin with continuo. In the first instance, please CONTACT US for further information or to place an order.

Bonporti's solo violin music was good enough to have been mistaken for J. S. Bach – the trio sonatas may follow (and expand) Corelli's models, and his concertos are more Albinoni-like than Vivaldi-esque, but he has an interesting, individual voice.

Op. 3 - Six motets

Add to cart
  • Description

Two of these six motets (in either four or five movements) are devoted to the Virgin Mary, two to her son, and the others to appropriate saints (performers can choose which). The vocal range is between d' and a''. Click HERE to download a PDF (1.3MB) with the texts.

Edited by Maxwell Sobel.
12pp, printed on quality paper and finished by DU Print and Ingram Spark.
Scoring: Soprano, 2 violins, continuo.

The set consists of two copies of the score (88pp), and one each of Violino Primo and Violino Secondo (each 24pp), and Basso (44pp).